The Disability Trust Board members have a wide range of professional skills and experience, as well as experience in the disability sector.

BRAD PYM – Chairman

Brad was born in Grafton in Northern NSW and educated in Sydney. Brad trained in economics at Macquarie University and has worked as an accountant, consultant, and business manager.

Until recently a resident of the Far South Coast of NSW, Brad has served for many years in the management of a number of community, educational and sporting organisations, including a number of years as board member and more recently as the chairperson of WorkAbility.


Treasurer Peter Quarmby is a highly experienced executive in the community sector. He is currently Executive Director of Community Sector Banking (CSB), which he helped established in 2002 as a joint venture between Bendigo Bank (now merged with Adelaide Bank) and a consortium of 20 not-for-profit organisations.

He is also the Chief Executive of Community Sector Innovations, which is CSB’s business development and innovation unit. Peter is currently Deputy Chair of Jobs Australia Ltd, and a director of the Jobs Australian Foundation and the International Association of Investors in the Social economy.

He joined the Trust in 2006.

MARGARET BOWEN – Chief Executive Officer

Margaret joined the organisation in 1987 when it was a small disability resource centre with four employees. She has overseen The Disability Trust’s development into a major service provider catering for close to 3000 people with disabilities, and employing more than 700 people. Margaret’s strong leadership, skilled management and strategic focus have resulted in The Disability Trust becoming one of the largest and most respected disability organisations in NSW. Through this period of sustained growth Margaret has always remained committed to The Trust’s strong community focus, delivering high quality services within a framework of client rights and ethical decision-making.


Anne Reeve is the Chief Executive Officer of SCOPE Access, an organisation that is funded by the Home and Community Care (HACC) program to provide home modifications and maintenance for people with disabilities, as well as access design, audits and building programs.

Anne has a professional background in human resources, business management and administrative systems, and many years experience in senior management of non-government organisations.

Anne joined the board in 2001.


Brenda is rejoining the Board after a two year break, having previously served on the board from 1996 until 2008. Her primary interest in the disability field and The Disability Trust in particular arises from her role as a parent to a son with severe physical and intellectual disabilities.

Professionally Brenda has worked as a clinical psychologist for many years with children and families in the areas of developmental disability, autism spectrum disorders, child protection, and child mental health. Brenda is currently employed by the NSW Health Department.


Josie is an associate at Kardos Scanlan, a Sydney based legal practice focused on the small and mid-market private equity space, private treaty M&A, distressed debt transactions and general commercial advice. She also has experience advising not-for-profit organisations. Prior to joining Kardos Scanlan Josie worked in two top tier law firms in Sydney in the restructuring and insolvency groups.  In her day to day work Josie is exposed to many of the difficulties that medium sized enterprises face. Josie hopes to assist The Disability Trust by bringing the skills learnt in her general corporate practice to the issues that are faced by The Disability Trust today. Josie graduated from the University of New South Wales with a LLB/BA (Hons) and is an exam qualified member of the Insolvency Practitioners Association of New South Wales.


Peter Cockcroft was raised in the North of England and has lived in the Illawarra since 1976. He has worked in a range of community organisations, including the NSW Council of Social Service, and has a Masters degree in Welfare Policy. Peter has served on the Board of The Trust for a number of years, including as Chairperson, when membership of the Board did not conflict with his work in the Department of Community Services. Now retired, Peter is keen to support an organisation which has been able to do so much to enhance the lives of people with disabilities.


Helen Backhouse is a qualified Social Worker (MSW) and brings to The Trust extensive experience spanning 30 years in community development, organisational management, direct service delivery, policy and advocacy. Helen’s diverse roles include sexual assault and incest counselling, family support services, community development, services for aged care and people with disabilities and has led the Illawarra’s NGO Community Services peak body, the Illawarra Forum for 18 years.  Helen is currently the Policy Officer for Southern Youth and Family Services, applying her commitment to social justice to the fields of young people and homelessness. She has a strong interest in equity in economic development and employment and is the Treasurer of the Regional Development Australia Illawarra Board.


Greg has worked in and with the public sector for 20 years.  He has held leadership roles in both the corporate and community functions of government. Currently, he works with a range of boards covering the arts, research, community, regional development and tourism.  In 2003 he was awarded a Winston Churchill Memorial Trust Fellowship.

He currently holds an executive position at Wollongong City Council.

He has a Bachelor of Science (Geography) and Masters of Policy (Social Policy) from the University of Wollongong and is a Graduate of the AICD Course.

Greg is passionate and enthusiastic about regional development and the role Wollongong plays in the prosperity of the region.